
The insurance you probably forgot you had
When a parent can't work because of illness or injury, the first worry is money. A super statement is the last thing anyone thinks to open. Yet for most Australian families there's a lump sum sitting quietly inside that fund, waiting to be claimed, and plenty of people never touch it because they've no idea it's there.
It's called Total and Permanent Disability cover, TPD for short, and it usually comes bundled into your super by default the moment your balance and age tick over the fund's thresholds. You didn't sign up for it in any way you'd remember. You've probably been paying premiums for it out of your balance for years without ever spotting the line item.
What TPD cover actually pays for
A TPD payment is a single lump sum, handed over once, if illness or injury means you can't work again. It has nothing to do with any Centrelink payment, and it isn't the same thing as income protection. Your super balance is a separate pot again, and you may be able to draw on that early on the same medical grounds.
The amount varies wildly between funds. Some default cover is modest, sitting in the tens of thousands. Some runs well into six figures, especially if you're insured across more than one fund. That last point matters most for anyone who's moved around. A parent who has worked three jobs over fifteen years and never rolled their super together may hold three separate default TPD policies, each with its own payout. People leave real money behind simply because nobody checks.
How to work out whether you hold it
You don't need a financial adviser for this. Twenty minutes and your login details will do.
1. Log in to each super fund you've ever had, not just the current one. Old funds count. 2. Find the insurance section of your account. It sits apart from your balance. 3. Look for a line that says TPD or Total and Permanent Disability, and note the sum insured next to it. 4. Write down the definition the policy uses. This is the bit that decides everything later, so don't skip it. 5. Check whether the cover's still active. Funds cancel insurance on inactive accounts, so a balance that hasn't had a contribution in sixteen months may have quietly lost its cover.
If you can't see the detail online, ring the fund and ask them to confirm your TPD sum insured and the definition in writing. They have to tell you.
"Any occupation" versus "own occupation", and why it decides your payout
Before you claim, get clear on one word in your policy. Two people with identical injuries can get completely different answers depending on it.
An "own occupation" policy asks a narrow question: can you go back to the specific job you were trained for and did before? That's the easier test to satisfy, though it's rarer, and it usually turns up in older or professional policies. An "any occupation" policy asks something much broader: can you work in any job at all that suits your education, training, experience or past work? The bar is higher, and it's the standard default in most super funds.
Picture a tradie with a wrecked back. Under "own occupation", he might qualify even if he could sit at a desk and answer phones, because he can't lay bricks any more. Under "any occupation", the same man can be told a desk job is within reach, and knocked back.
Most default super TPD runs on "any occupation". It's the tougher of the two, and it's why a claim that feels obviously valid to a family can still be declined. Read your definition before you assume anything.
Lodging the claim, and what to do when the fund stalls
The process itself is paperwork heavy. You fill in the fund's claim forms and supply evidence of your work history, and your treating doctors write up medical reports showing how the condition stops you working. Then you wait, and the wait can stretch for months.
Delays and knock-backs are common, and they don't always mean your claim is weak. Insurers routinely ask for more medical evidence or pick at how a specialist worded a report. Many lean on the "any occupation" definition to argue you could do something else. A knock-back isn't the end of it, though. You can supply further evidence, ask the fund for its reasons in writing, have the definition checked, and formally dispute the decision.
If the fund drags its feet or knocks the claim back, firms like Smiths Lawyers run TPD claims through superannuation on a no win, no fee basis, so you can have the policy and the medical evidence reviewed before you give up on money your family may be entitled to. Because TPD is claimed nationally rather than tied to one state, that help reaches families right across Australia.
Be realistic about the limits. Some conditions won't qualify, and a lawyer can't turn a policy you don't hold into one you do. What a good one does is read the definition properly, spot where the insurer's overreaching, push for the reasons behind a refusal, and check the medical evidence answers the test the policy actually sets. If your claim's straightforward and the fund pays without fuss, you may never need one.
The takeaway for busy parents
So check every fund, not just the one you're paying into now, and write down both the sum insured and the exact definition each policy uses. Keep that wording somewhere you'll be able to find it again. And if a claim gets refused, treat the refusal as a first answer rather than the last word. The money's there to catch your family at the worst possible time, and it only helps if you know to reach for it.
This article is general information only and does not take your personal circumstances into account. TPD entitlements depend on your specific policy and situation. Before acting, speak to a licensed financial adviser or a qualified legal professional about your own cover.
About the author
Clare Whitfield, Chief Editor Clare has spent more than a decade writing on family finances and the everyday admin that keeps Australian households running. She writes for Stay at Home Mum readers who want the practical version, minus the jargon.



